JOAN BENNETT: THE QUIET STAR

Discussion of the actors, directors and film-makers who 'made it all happen'
CineMaven

JOAN BENNETT: THE QUIET STAR

Post by CineMaven »

This photo stopped me dead in my tracks and Robert Regan posted a very interesting 'food-for-thought' question over at the SSO's FaceBook page when he posted this picture:

Joan Bennett in "WOMAN ON THE BEACH" - Could she have been an inspiration for Andrew Wyeth?
[u]Robert Regan[/u] wrote:Who else in the forties could have played this character?
MAVEN ELIMINATION:

This kind of question is oh sooooooo hard because any original performer's performance, is so often burned in one’s mind, it’s hard to see anyone else in the part.

One way for me to approach Bob's question is for me to think about what it is Joan Bennett brings to the table. I’m no Bennett expert. She’s newly on my radar ( thanxx to an old friend: "The Reckless Moment" and a new friend: "Father of the Bride" ) even though I’ve seen her around for years. She’s incredibly sexy. Not in a va-va-va voom obvious way perhaps. But she’s sultry...smolders...simmers. She also has the ability to play two emotions at once. There’s an intriguing ambiguity about Joan Bennett that’s under the surface. She’s not obvious - emoting to the heavens. She is subtle; she has subtext. She has a unique niche in the pantheon of actresses from the classic era.

No cards and letters folks, but I have to say I do not see a “peaches & cream” look for this character. I think the dark soul of a brunette fits better here. With one exception.*

A MAN’S WOMAN: